Ca Kho To (Vietnamese Braised Fish)

When my mom cooked, really cooked, it was almost like perfection. She wouldn’t use a recipe or a book, everything she knew was from her head. This was one of those dishes. My mom wasn’t a big fan of meat, but she sure loved seafood…shrimp, fish, clams, abalone. She made this dish from time to time when she was in the mood, and every time, it was always wonderful. Memories of it has inspired me to make it myself. The Ca Kho To recipe I used is from The Ravenous Couple, a food blog with various Vietnamese dishes. It turned out pretty tasty, although I was lacking two things, a clay pot and catfish (I haven’t been able to find catfish in Germany). Instead, I used a regular pot and salmon steaks. And I need to wait for the sauce to carmelize a little more next time.

Leave a Reply

