Homemade Granola with Raisins and Cranberries

I am a granola fanatic. It all started in college, when my housemates would go to Costco and purchase the bulk granola (and along with it, I would consume the bulk yogurt as well). Ever since then, I’ve tried many different kinds, and fell in love with a few. Currently, I’m eating Back to Nature, a brand that has many different flavors (I go for the Classic), and it’s 100% natural. I’ve finally decided that I don’t need to shell out $4 for a bag every two weeks, so I made my own homemade granola. I researched an online recipe, added my own ingredients, and ta-da, a supply that I can continue making when I run out.

Ingredients:
2 cups rolled oats
1/2 cup silvered almonds
1/2 cup honey
1/3 cup olive oil
1/3 cup water
1 cup raisins
1/2 cup dried cranberries

Directions:
1. Preheat oven to 325°.
2. Combine all dry ingredients together into a large bowl.
3. Over medium-low heat, heat honey, oil, and water. Stir with a wooden spoon until well combined.
4. Pour liquid over dry ingredients and mix well until liquid is well distributed. Spread out in a thin layer on a cookie sheet or roasting pan. Bake for about 45 minutes, until evenly browned and crispy. Turn with a spatula every 15 minutes so mixture is evenly browned.
4. Take out of oven and let cool.

8-10 servings

Leave a Reply

