Soondubu Jjigae (Soft Tofu Stew)

I first had a version of soondubu back in Cali. My friends and I would go to the Korean tofu houses in our area (Monterey Park), and I always had to order it. Mine would always be vegetarian and not spicy, and with the rice and the side dishes, I never got full. I always wanted more. Now in Korea, I can have it all the time, and it’s cheaper in the restaurant than making it on my own. There’s a kimpab shop below my workplace, and I love going there for their soondubu. It’s delicious, spicy, filling, and it comes with a few clams but I leave them as they are. After having it there, I decided to make it at home. I’ve taken out the clams, and simplified the recipe to merely the soup, soft tofu, enoki mushrooms, and an egg. It has taken me several tries, but I think I’ve managed it.

I’ll post the recipe another time.

Leave a Reply

